These 50 Sites Are A Design Treasure in Each State

Trista - July 17, 2019

Washington D.C. – The White House

The official house of the President of the United States, it’s been one of the standing beacons of democracy in the modern world. It was built and designed by James Hoban, who used the neoclassical style. Thomas Jefferson was the first to move in during 1801, where colonnades were added on each wing to accommodate stables and storage.

During the Ear of 1812, the White House was burned down by the British Army, but construction began immediately afterward to restore it. Construction began in 1817 with President Monroe but the White House was not ready until 1829.